Winnipeg held its inaugural meeting of the city's 15th council last night.

In total 16 members were sworn in at the private event.

Newcomers to council include Sherri Rollins in Fort Rouge-East Fort Garry, Shawn Nason in Transcona, Kevin Klein in Charleswood-Tuxedo, Vivian Santos in Point Douglas, and Markus Chambers in St. Norbert-Seine River. 

Devi Sharma, councillor for Old Kildonan was re-elected as council speaker and Janice Lukes was elected as deputy speaker.

An organizational meeting of council will take place on November 14th, 2018 at 9:30 a.m..