Mike McEwen, Reid Carruthers, Derek Samagalski and Colin Hodgson are 2022 Provincial men’s curling champions.

The West St. Paul foursome defeated Colton Lott of Winnipeg Beach 8-3 in eight ends in the final of the Viterra Championship Sunday afternoon at the Selkirk Curling Club.

McEwen, who beat Ryan Wiebe of Fort Rouge 10-9 earlier in the semifinal, scored three in the sixth end, stole a single point in seven and put the game on ice with two more in the eighth end.

It was the only loss for Lott, third Kyle Doering, second Tanner Lott and lead Emerson Klimpke who reeled off five straight wins including an 8-7 decision over McEwen in the 1-1 page playoff game Saturday night.

This is the second Viterra Championship title for Team McEwen who also won in 2019.

McEwen, Carruthers, Samagalski and Hodgson will represent Manitoba at the Tim Hortons Brier in Lethbridge from March 4th-13th.

Individually it’s the fourth Manitoba men’s championship for McEwen; the seventh for Carruthers; the fifth for Samagalski and the fourth for Hodgson.